Wordpress Template Export: Pinegrow Bug (or just me)?

Hey there!

I’m a seasoned developer, but new to both WP and Pinegrow, so not sure if this issue is me or the system. Opened some support tickets, but went un-replied, so opening it up to the community.

I have a master WP template, working well. I’m trying to add a second page to use as a blank WP Template in the “Templates” dropdown when creating new pages.

For the new HTML page in my project folder, I have set the following from the WP tab in Pinegrow:

• Set the HTML element as Wordpress Site (not the Master, with index.html as “Use Master Page”)
  • Set the SECTION element as “The Loop”
  • Set the DIV inside the section as the “Site Content”
  • This “blank_page.html” page’s html content is: html head, body, blank header, section, content div, blank footer, closing body…

When I save, and Export Theme however, while it saves and creates the “blank_page.php”, it doesn’t export anything for the header / footer, but more importantly, the PHP content is missing “the_content” php call, and has “get_header” and “get_footer” instead of “wp_head” and “wp_foot”, so I get errors running pages using this template in WP:

The PHP template is simply:

<?php
/*
 Template Name: Blank Page (No header/footer)
 */
?>
<?php
get_header(); ?>

<?php get_footer(); ?>

Very well could just be me missing something obvious, but the get_header stuff shouldn’t happen, right (this is depricated in WP?)

Any ideas? Thanks very much!

• Ira

Hi, I am new to all this myself. I have played around with css, html and php over the years I can usually sort minor issues with my own sites. I am disappointed that no-one here or in the proper support area has answered your question. I can recommend a book: Smashing WordPress (beyond the blog) by Thord Daniel Hedengren. It’s published by Smashing Magazine and I have found it very helpful. BTW I don’t get anything for recommending the book - it’s just a good book!