Have Pinegrow interaction run only on first visit

As the title suggests, I’m looking to use some kind of caching so that the javascript wont run after the first visit.

I have an animation that runs on the landing page that obscures all other content for two seconds~. It’s nice for the first but if people want to come back to homepage, refresh etc. it’s obviously annoying.

Not really sure how to approach this, perhaps the animation parent div could be deleted and cached to be gone as it no longer serves a purpose? Keen to have feedback on this.

I’m not an expert on Interactions, but here is how I would do it.
You have a couple of choices, depending on how long you want the block to re-running the animation to exist and what your privacy policies are currently.
For long-term blocking you’ll want to add a cookie value with a stated expiration. This will persist even if the visitor quits the browser. When the user refreshes the page you use JS to fetch the cookie value and then change some classes on the page. Those classes would be incorporated into your Interactions target values.
For shorter term blocking, you can either use session storage (only persists as long as the visitor doesn’t close the current browser tab) or local storage (persists as long as the visitor doesn’t quit the browser) and do the same thing.
Not being an interactions expert, I don’t have a good feeling for whether you it would be easy to add the variable check on some main script and I’m not by my computer to check. If nobody else responds I can try to check this a little later.

Hope this helps.
Bob

1 Like

Thanks for directing me to the relevant resources Rob.