Exported blocks not visible in WordPress (solved)

I’m new to Pinegrow. Overall…I find it amazing. Having said that I also find it a bit buggy. Most of the work I’m doing is with Wordpress and Tailwind CSS. To learn Pinegrow, I did the recent Flex tutorial…which is wonderful. But I’ve found bugs along the way. I decided I should start posting them.

First one: Pinegrow inconsistently registers the Blocks. They show up in the Blocks folder, with the register php file, but don’t show up in Wordpress. I’ve traced this to functions.php. It seems to be hit or miss whether Pinegrow adds the new block to functions.php. Manually adding the include, doesn’t fix it. When you reload in Pinegrow it reverts to the original functions.php (have had this same issue with a custom header.php always being overwritten. - but guess that is issue #2 :wink:

I’ve tried clearing the cache in both Pinegrow and the browser, but it doesn’t work. I believe the answer IS having it registered in functions.php…but because Pinegrow keeps deleting any customization to functions.php. it does not resolve the issue.

@iHuman Most of my work is also with blocks and Tailwind and I haven’t run into either of those issues. Can you post a loom video (or similar) and/or a sample of your project showing us what is happening?

It would be really complex to do a video of…
I am wondering if some of the bugginess I’m experiencing with Pinegrow is related to working on an M1 processor?

I’ve done a lot of Tailwind CSS with php manually (Sublime)…without issues. So I’m fairly confident in my coding skills.

Here’s the issue:

1. create a block
  2. save all
  3. export theme
  4. block appears in block folder under correct name, with all component files.
  5. hit or miss whether block appears in _pgexport folder
  6. functions.php shows the require file in the block init
  7. functions.php in _pgexport does not.