I'm new to Pinegrow and wow

I’ve been following Pinegrove (off and on via @adamslowe), over the last year and finally decided to pull the trigger and subscribe and I’m extremely impressed. As someone who used to hand code everything back in the “old days” (I’ve been a front-end web developer for over 25 years now), it’s refreshing and fun to get back into it with a tool that takes care of most of the grunt work, while leaving me to do the fun stuff.

This morning, I decided to see if the SCSS compiling supported ‘@use ‘sass:math’;’ because a lot of online ones don’t (WP plugins), and YEP, it does. I know it’s a desktop version, so it should, but it’s just really nice. I’ve been in the WP page builder world for most of the last 10 years, going from Elementor, to Oxygen, to Bricks and Cwicly, to well… just Bricks now. I’ll still use Bricks for the time being while I familiarize myself with Pinegrow, but I envision a day where I’m doing everything in Pinegrow.

It’s funny how cyclical things are in the web world, where they start off simple (hand coding with simple tools), then get overly complicated with less freedom (page builders), then cycle back to simple ways with full freedom (the best of hand coding and page builders combined). So far, Pinegrow feels very familiar, but also pretty complicated, but in a way that makes sense since I’m already familiar with HTML, PHP, CSS, SCSS, PHP, and custom WP theming. I’m looking forward to exploring and learning it more over the weeks, and thank goodness there’s a discourse forum and not a FB one!

10 Likes

UPDATE:

I didn’t realize the WP plugin was included with the desktop purchase as part of the WP add-on, but it seems to be. I downloaded the WP plugin, installed it on a test site, logged in, and I was off to the races! This is great because it means I can develop locally on my Mac with no internet, or online in the browser, which is the best of both worlds.