Add custom code to WordPress head

Hi,

I want to define some variables I can use in a page template in Wordpress. It works when I add them to the very top of my page template php-code (under the
“/*
Template Name: pagetemplate
Template Post Type: page
*/” -stuff inside the first <?php...?> tag.

I tried a lot with the function smart action but I wasn’t able to place the code in the area I described above. I could add the code in the WP theme editor but it would be overwritten each time I update the theme.

Can anyone help me?

Thanks!

Hi @Riccarcharias,
Where exactly do you want these variables to show up - not sure if you have a master with get_header, or…? All pages or just one selected template? Where are the variables coming from - hard-coded, passed in with the args?
Cheers,
Bob

Thanks for your answer @RobM !

I want to show the php-code on only one page template. I have a master page but I want to show the code on a page template with its own header and footer (with get_header)…

Maybe a picture says more than thousand words…I wrote the “$title = get_the_title();” in the WP Theme editor, but it will disappear when I update the theme.

Hi @Riccarcharias,
Where do you want to use the variables and where are they coming from?
Are you using them in the header and is the header a separate PHP file? If you are only using it once, does it have to be separate?
Not sure if this helps: get_header() | Function | WordPress Developer Resources
If you are wanting to get values from standard WP functions, is there a reason you can’t call the functions where you need them, or is this just a quick example?
Cheers,
Bob

Hi @RobM