Help getting started

I’m new to Vue but have been trying to learn by creating an app. I started it using Quasar and configured it to use vite. When trying to point Vue Designer at the existing project, it told me to add stuff to vite.config.js but I don’t have this file. I think I’ve managed to make the right entries to quasar.config.js but it would be really helpful if the designer provided suitable instructions for this setup.

My test project is intended to be implemented as part of an existing site - I need to pass an ID to it (which it then uses to make API requests) so currently, I have to go to 127.0.0.1:8000/#/ID_NUMBER/ which works in a browser but, when using the designer, any attempt to open the page results in a 404. Is there any way to control the URL that Vue Designer requests?

Welcome to Vue Designer @GrumpyBadger!

That is a very fair point, we definitely need specific instructions for Quasar config file, I will prioritize it.

Meanwhile, after installing npm install -D @pinegrow/vite-plugin, please add it to the quasar config like this:

You can hard-code the dev-server URL by passing it as an option to the vite-plugin, like this:

[
    require("@pinegrow/vite-plugin").liveDesigner, 
    {
        //... existing config parameters
        devServerUrls: {
            /* Please ensure that you update this URL with the actual URL of your app-server. */
            local: 'http://127.0.0.1:8000/MY_ID', // App-server URL
        },
    }
]

We also have a sample app for your reference here:

Live Demo - https://pg-quasar-weather-app.netlify.app/
Github - GitHub - Pinegrow/pg-quasar-weather-app: Quasar Weather App

This project is a fork of a rewrite of Danny Connell’s “Quasar V1: Weather App for Mobile, Desktop & Web (Vue JS 2)” application he built for his Udemy course of the same name. This template pre-includes the Pinegrow Vite Plugin and other goodies for Vue Designer.