Pinegrow redesigned UI concept

I’m a designer who discovered Pinegrow around four years ago as I wanted to get into WordPress development without having to rely on quirky pagebuilders and let met create the layouts as I designed them, not as they ware possible in the pagebuilder. And in this it has been very effective! As such, in the capacity of me being a designer, I thought I’d give redesigning the Pinegrow interface a try and see where I would end up. Below here is the result. Tell me what you think.

2 Likes

I think the radiuses on the boxes should be smaller.

2 Likes

I like it a lot, but I agree with printninja the radius is way too big.
Maybe a subtle 5 px or max 10 px should do the trick.

I am talking about the panels , i do not mind the button shaped radius on the file selection on top and the tree selection. The floating side panel also looks great!

A redesign or a refactoring, what will this be?

A redesign requires you to complete redesign something from scratch (imo).

A refactoring requires you to complete refactor what’s given.

So, is this a redesign or a refactoring? Because the key difference is functionality

The above is fan-made😉

It’s a preference thing I suppose.
To me the more pronounced rounding gives a little more “style” than a lesser rounding would. I can’t really explain why, it’s more of a feeling as such my reference to preference.

Thanks!

And as I said to printninja, the rounding is sort of a preference… There is no real right or wrong answer to it I suppose

As was already said, this is a fan made design.

To me what you distinguish here sound more like semantics, though I do understand on some level why you make the distinction.

If we are going by your definition, it’s more of a refactoring than a redesign.