Adding hyperlink to buttons

Hello I’m new to pine grow! Love the platform. I know this might be ignorant but how do I add a hyperlink to a button?

Hi @Ge0123,
Not an ignorant question at all!
There are a couple of considerations.
So one way to add a hyperlink to a button is <a href="URL"><button>Click me</button></a>. In Pinegrow you can do this by dragging a button from the Library panel to the page and then go to the Properties panel and click on the “Create link” button in the “Link” section.
This is a somewhat common way to add button hyperlinks, but I don’t really like it. As far as accessibility, screen readers will read the button and link separately, and from the keyboard the activation of the two are slightly different.

The next way, that I like better, is to simple drag a link to the page and then style it to look like a button. If you are using Bootstrap this is as easy as dragging a button element from the Library to the Page View, then under the Properties panel in the “Button” section you can convert the button element to a link element. Basically it will just change the element, but keep all the styling. In Tailwind CSS you can do something similar, but you will have to change the element in the code editor. In plain HTML, you will have to drag a link to the page and then add CSS of your own styling. This is more accessible and semantic.

So, there you have it. A complex answer to your simple question! Any more questions?
Cheers,
Bob

Hello Bob,

Thank you so much for helping me! When you say to click and drag a link, are you referring to saving the link to my desktop and dragging it into the application?

If I do the click and drag from the library, where do I add the code you had mentioned in your first comment? Is it in “inner hmtl”? (Please see picture)

How would I edit this already created button?

Hi @Ge0123,
For your first comment -