Menu problem - cannot get both links and highlights to work

Based on the Pinegrow blog template, I have a master page with this menu (here abbreviated)

<nav class="bg-white navbar navbar-expand-md navbar-light">
                    <button class="navbar-toggler" type="button" data-toggle="collapse" data-target="#navbarNavAltMarkup" aria-controls="navbarNavAltMarkup" aria-expanded="false" aria-label="Toggle navigation">
                        <span class="navbar-toggler-icon"></span>
                    </button>
                    <div class="collapse navbar-collapse" id="navbarNavAltMarkup">
                        <div class="navbar-center navbar-nav">
                            <ul class="navbar-nav  ">
                                <li class="nav-item active">
                                    <a class="nav-link" href="home.html" data-pgc-field="menuItems">Home </a>
                                </li>
                                <li class="nav-item">
                                    <a class="nav-link" href="history.html" data-pgc-field="menuItems">History</a>
                                </li>

</ul>
                        </div>
                    </div>
                </nav>

then at the end of the html

<script> 
         $(document).ready(function() {
             "use strict";
             $('ul.navbar-nav > li').click(function(e) {
               //e.preventDefault();
               $('ul.navbar-nav > li').removeClass('active');
               $(this).addClass('active');
             });
           });
        </script>                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                         -->
    </body>
</html>