Why use WordPress?

I have been designing websites since I read “HTML for Dummies” in 1994. Along the way, I’ve had to learn new tricks as the art improved and credit Pinegrow for introducing me to Bootstrap. However, I still cannot see the benefits of Wordpress.
Last month, a client contacted me to change a few things on their existing Wordpress website. I downloaded 1.3 GB of files plus the Mysql Data to my local sever for development. What a mess!
I decided to recode the website. This took 1.5 days but this would have been less had most of the jpgs not required resizing & optimisation. On completion, I uploaded the 2.7M (more or less 1/500th the size) of files
and then compared the website with the original. Only an expert could tell the slide show had a slightly different transition - to the general eye; everything was the same.
I ask the question - What is this obsession with Wordpress and why is it so popular?

2 Likes

I completely get where you’re coming from. I question every project as to whether to use WP or not and it’s generally 50/50. The main benefits, in my view, are the speed to first page, the built in features and the huge library of plugins. I can build a fully responsive good looking site with some key features like shopping cart, blog, etc. in about an hour. But, the downside is the mega bloat and then the issues when a plugin suddently stops behaving or you want to do something specific which isn’t easy with the combination of theme and plugins you’re using.

Pinegrow opens up a whole new arena where you can build the site very bespoke but still within the WP framework and it will perform extremely well.

There will always be swings and roundabouts which is why I consider all the options with each project and don’t just use the same tools every time.

1 Like

@mxs

It’s not about the hype, but indeed, not all sites need a CMS, whether it is WordPress for which we offer features in Pinegrow or other (Drupal, Joomla etc …)