SASS/CSS Learning Resource Question(s)

Hello,
I’m contemplating taking a long break away from Wordpress and am looking to get into Bootstrap 4.xx websites for a while. I am a complete newbie to CSS/SASS/LESS, etc., as I stopped actively following it to any great depth maybe 10 years ago. What resources are available that will help me to understand CSS as it is today, and then SASS, I suppose, as it is my understanding that LESS has been deprecated from Bootstrap and all of the cool kids are now using SASS. I generally use a Mac but I have a decent Windows 10 Laptop available here if needed to peruse learning resources.

Thank you for any help that you can throw in my direction.
Michael

I know virtually nothing about SASS/LESS, but I know CSS fairly well. You don’t need to know SASS to use Bootstrap, you just have to become familiar with all the classes. You DO need to know CSS, however, if you want to do anything custom with Bootstrap. Bootstrap’s own website is helpful in this regard… https://getbootstrap.com/

I basically taught myself CSS using W3 schools https://www.w3schools.com/css/ and Stack Overflow https://stackoverflow.com/ for questions/problems I couldn’t figure out. For some of the more complicated stuff, like Flexbox and CSS Grid, I used YouTube Videos and just did a lot of Google searching.

@Printninja - Thank you kindly for the rundown on how you went about things to absorb CSS. I’ll check out the linked references that you called out. I am familiar with them but have not spent time at any of them to actually learn the topic, but to rather become a cut & paste type of user, which is something that I want to grow away from.

I appreciate you taking the time to put my mind on a path that I can follow to get some of this under my belt.

:thinking:

If you are interested in paid courses that teach everything without wasting your time trying to learn through hunting for information or tutorials Udemy.com has some really good courses.