Can i just apply css to existing html file?

Hi…

I am new to Pinegrow and I am not an expert in CSS. I only google for CSS solutions whenever I want to adjust my website/CMS.

However, now I have an existing HTML file (complete with CSS and JS) that I need to make it looks better. Currently it has no styling. It’s a questionnaire.

My question is, can I just apply Bootstrap or Tailwind CSS to this file to make it looks better?

Hi @dzulfriday,

No that’s asking for trouble, because Bootstrap etc. comes with predefined classes in the HTML and CSS. Your best option is to start with a Bootstrap 5 template provided with/in Pinegrow (there are even multi page templates!) and transfer your content from the old website to the new one. That way you learn the structure of the Bootstrap 5 HTML and create a up to date website that’s future proof. Here a 3 column example in Bootstrap 5 :

<section class="mysection">

<div class="container">
<div class="row">

<div class="col-md-4">
</div>

<div class="col-md-4">
</div>

<div class="col-md-4">
</div>

</div><!--closing row-->
</div><!--closing container-->

</div><!--closing section-->

Regards,

David

A css framework like Milligram will give you some styling without the need to add classes.

@SureWeb

Milligram will give you some styling without the need to add classes

From the Milligram website:

“Milligram has some functional classes to improve the performance and productivity everyday”.

Not true! Works the same as any other CSS framework (only very minimalistic!) and is not part of Pinegrow and Pinegrow doesn’t offer templates for it.

Unless you want to avail of the grid in Milligram you don’t need to use classes with it. It has a handfull of utility classes, some button classes, and some classes to inline forms. These are all optional the rest is styled on the elements.
Milligram is the closest to a classless framework but yet still looks appealing imo.