CSS Grid System

Hello all, At my work are moving away from bootstrap (flexbox) in favor of CSS grid system. I know there is a lite basic support in PG on this technology mainly of some input fields . Do you think PG will fully suport this new technology with visual tools any time soon?
Thanks

1 Like

Hi there, this isn’t an answer for you sorry but a question :slight_smile:
Why are they doing that then? what are the list of reasons and how much easier/more trouble is it making things to move away. Or is it better for future proofing and maintenance do they think.

mmm… that was a few questions. sorry

I don’t know why are they doing this. I am just a junior designer in there. what I have understood so far is that this new css grid is easier to implement with less code and future prove… the technical detail i don’t know. It sucks becouse i was learning the logic behind flexbox system and now they want to go with css grid system… whaterver… Thanks

ah cheers for that.
and don’t worry, keep learning Flexbox too!

They both work differerently and can be used together.

ie , one works like everything is on long line - no wrapping of elements so good for formatting one line/row at a time,
the other treats the layout as a …grid! both Rows And Columns, at the same time.

they can be combined together to achieve great things :slight_smile:

i.e.

and maybe some fun stuff/courses here too :slight_smile:
https://hackernoon.com/the-ultimate-css-battle-grid-vs-flexbox-d40da0449faf

oh and of course, talking about fun, how on earth could I forget…

anyway, back to to your question… CSS GRID support in Pinegrow…?

1 Like

Hey thank you very much for your time to write down that valuable info above. I will look at them for sure. I just started an udemy course on css grid system and yes it looks very powerful.
Hope PG will support this new css feature.
Thanks again

1 Like