Framework or CSS Grid?

I need to make a decision (fast) so I’m asking for opinions of the community.

I’m a designer and new to pinegrow - what an incredible tool!
I have a developer doing most of the backend code (nodejs) and I get help with the CSS.

We’re building a simple but highly customised e-commerce site and I don’t know whether to ditch the idea of using a framework and just going with HTML and CSS grid.

The front end of the site is highly customised and I have been finding myself overriding all of the bootstrap styles anyway - for example, buttons and their behaviour, the form fields with animation. Most of the framework components seem to need modification.
I also want the site to be lightning fast and a quick check in google pagespeed insights tells me there is a lot of overhead with the bootstrap theme (jquery and the bootstrap files)

So, I am thinking of scrapping the idea of using frameworks in favour of doing everything with CSS grid and plain old HTML essentially building our own framework I guess.

But my hesitation is the following:

This is an e-commerce subscription site so the backend will need reporting and dashboards a little like Shopify. Am I going to need to get a framework or is there a library of components I could use with the CSS grid? Is it easy to build reports etc without a framework? Does anyone have any good resource links?

If I add the framework later, will it mess up our custom vanilla HTML?
Am I making a mistake by ditching bootstrap or (or similar)?

Any insights or experiences appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

Sounds like a pretty huge task that is deserving of some good pre-planning. It sounds a little like you are mixing front-end and back-end concerns. Do you just need to make it look good, or do you have to make it work?