Customising Tailwind

Hi

I have been following this tutorial in the documentation and all has gone well until I get to the part where it says ’ Click on the Tools & Settings icon and select Customize visual controls :’

Rather than seeing the dialog where it should allow me to point to the build stylesheet I instead see a dialog telling me that customisation is not supported in Tailwind Css 3+.

As I’m new to using Pinegrow I am assuming that at this point I should probably be doing something other than what is suggested in the tutorial however I’m not entirely sure what.

Could you enlighten me?

Hi @Dom I’ve spent about 20hrs trying to get Tailwinds working in PG with their Tialwind’s Windows CLI. Never got it to sync properly with PG but I think node.js is working, but I do know you’re looking at old documentation. They are using the design panel to handle colors now. You have to activate the design panel from the Window → Show/Hide in the top navigation of PG if it’s not already active for you.

Also, this new external build may help you a bit too.

1 Like

@jonroc Thank you so much for your suggestion. I have the basic design palette working now. Would I be correct in thinking that allowing Pinegrow to use it’s own compiler removes the ability to abstract some of the css into its own reusable components. Possibly not very well put on my part but I have in mind things like buttons or cards that might be widely reused over a site.

I’m presuming for that I’d need a tailwind config, and that in turn suggests an external build, or could I simply add a tailwind config to the tailwind theme folder that gets created by Pinegrow and use that?

1 Like

or you could use pinegrow components.